1964          IBM “Outstanding Technical Contribution Award” for optical character recognition

1965-68    United States National Committee on Optics

1966          National Academy of Science, International Commission on Optics, Paris, France

1968-69    L. B. Johnson Presidential Task Force on Telecommunications

1969-75    Trustee Committee, Athletics and Student Affairs, Lafayette College

1970-75     Board of Directors, Xerox Center for Health Care, Baylor School of Medicine

1974-88    Board of Directors, SMU College for Science and Technology, Dallas, Texas

1977-78     Board of Directors, United Way of Dallas, Dallas, Texas

1978-79    Board of Directors, Edwin L. Cox School of Business, SMU, Dallas, Texas

1978 –     Board of Trustees, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois

1979-82    Board of Directors, First City Bank of Dallas, Dallas, Texas

1980          Best Outside Speaker of the Year, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

1980-81    Committee on IR&D, National Research Council

1981-13     Board of Directors, Molex Corporation, Lisle, Illinois

1981          Society of Manufacturing Engineers Distinguished Engineering Award

1983-88   Board of Directors, Xytronyx, Inc., San Diego, California

1985-87    Dallas Citizens Council, Dallas Texas

1987-88    Board of Directors, Richardson Medical Center Foundation

1988-89    Executive Committee, San Antonio Economic Development Foundation

1988-90    Board of Directors, United Way of San Antonio, San Antonio, Texas

1988          Commencement Orator, Columbia College

1988-90    Advisory Board, Alamo Chapter of American Diabetes Association

1989-92    Engineering Advisory Committee, University of Texas at San Antonio

1995          Distinguished Scholar Medal from the University of Rochester

1998-03   Board of Trustees, Alliance for Higher Education, Dallas, Texas

1999-02   Vice Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT Research Institute, Chicago, Illinois

2000-13   Board of Directors, The Bradshaw Group, Richardson, Texas

2000-12   Board of Directors, SpeedFC, Dallas, Texas

2000-02   Chairman of the Firm, Tatum CIO Partners, LLP, Atlanta, Georgia

2002-05   Advisory Director, The American National Bank, Terrell, Texas

2001-07    Board of Directors, Cree, Inc., Durham, North Carolina

2003-07    University of Texas-Dallas, Research Advisory Council

2003-15     Board of Directors, Zebra Technologies Corporation, Lincolnshire, Illinois

2004+05    Judge, Tech Titans, Dallas, Texas

2006-10    Advisory Board, Micropac Industries, Inc., Garland, Texas

2006-10    Advisory Board, MicroSun Technologies, Lisle, Illinois

2007-08    Director Emeritus, Cree, Inc., Durham, North Carolina

2008          Judge, Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Dallas, Texas

2009 –      Advisory Board, Pearson Partners International, Dallas, Texas

2010 –       Development Board, University of Texas-Dallas

2013          Dedication of Bob Potter’s Alley, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, IL

2014 –      Advisory Board, ilumi Solutions, Plano, Texas

2014 –      Advisory Board, SHEEX, Inc., Marlton, New Jersey

2016 –     Advisory Board, Imaging Physics, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX